Walking past Hillsborough Barracks

I was working today, in my new job as a project worker at the Burton Street Foundation, helping to support adults with learning disabilities. It’s the first job I’ve had in ten years that I can walk to! Now I’m wishing that it was a bit further away, because even with a walk to the shops of Hillsborough after work, I only managed to clock up 2.12 miles today, in distance anyway. Still, I did walk back carrying baking potatoes, sweet potatoes, an aubergine and a cauliflower.

I’m sure I’ll be walking around here a lot, and there is some interesting history in this part of Sheffield. One of the places I walked past today is Hillsborough Barracks. It’s a complex of buildings that many local people now take for granted, as in the 1980s-90s, it was redeveloped and is now the home of Morrisons Supermarket, various shops, a hotel, a job centre and part of Sheffield College, where I once learned about databases and spreadsheets! But it’s a Grade Two Listed Building and is the only surviving example of a walled barracks in the whole of the UK.

The barracks were built in 1848 and used up until 1930, and over the years, it gradually fell into disrepair before its regeneration. Thousands of soldiers, from officers to privates, lived here, and I’m sure I’ll find lots of links with it in my other walks around this area. It would be fascinating to step back in time and see what it was like in its heyday.

img_8223

The Chapel of the Barracks

img_8224

The main entrance to the barracks from Langsett Road

img_8225

The barracks has turrets around its perimeter

 

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. M K GARRATT
    Jan 04, 2017 @ 16:49:41

    Hi Anne very interesting reading. Happy new year and good luck with the job x

    Reply

    • Anne Garage
      Jan 04, 2017 @ 19:13:49

      Yes, I’m really enjoying it! I spent about twenty minutes bouncing on a trampoline with one of the clients today – and playing ping pong. There are some really interesting facts about the building where I’m working, but I’m saving them up for another post.

      Reply

  2. Diana Grange
    Jan 04, 2017 @ 18:54:54

    Keep walking! It’s not that easy, I walked to Park Farm today and back, and I only clocked up 2miles! So in 4 days I’ve done 10 miles, only 990 miles to go!! Love mum xxxx

    Sent from my iPad

    Reply

    • Anne Garage
      Jan 04, 2017 @ 19:15:28

      I walked to Burton Street and up to Walkley Library and back home and that was only two miles! Still, it all counts, but they don’t make a special case for the gradient of the hills round here.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Things this blog is about…

