About the Random Notebook

Hello! I’ve been meaning to start this blog for two years. I set it up, then got scared because I didn’t know what I was doing. Now I’ve realised that it doesn’t matter. The whole point of The Random Notebook is to have fun, get some of my writing online and share things with the world.

I’ve been writing ever since I could hold a pen. For as long as I can remember, I’ve kept a writer’s notebook. Most of the time, I carry around with me a notebook – no, not a computer, but the real thing: paper pages! So old fashioned, but so versatile. I’ve kept all of my notebooks. Sometimes I refer back to them years later. I think I do my best work in the pretty notebooks. At the moment, I’ve got a beautiful Accessorize notebook, spiral bound, hard-cover, with pictures of birds, squirrels and hedgehogs. Another memorable notebook was bought in Malaga airport and has a cartoon of a cow dressed as Elvis on the cover. A5 is the best size.

I use my notebooks for writing first drafts, ideas for chapters of my novels, stories and poems, but also for noting down things to do, important life-changing ideas, recipes, notes from training, plans, shopping lists, contact details, exercises, book recommendations and other things. A couple of years ago when we were buying a house, my notes on this overtook the creative stuff. I’m currently going through a period of career-change and I’m reading a lot of career-change books. I’m currently in the middle of reading ‘Be a free range human’ by Marianne Cantwell, and she has inspired me to actually start this blog.

So that’s what The Random Notebook is – a random collection of stuff, just like my notebooks! I hope you’ll enjoy the insight into a writer’s mind.

Lots of love,

Anne xxx

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mr WordPress
    Jan 15, 2011 @ 19:27:45

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

    Reply

  2. Tim Woodman
    Feb 16, 2013 @ 19:18:14

    I have a deranged and vast imagination, a comprehensive and clear idea of the way the world runs (badly) with a good memory and mind. I have also led a wild and wooly life full of drama and adventure. Could I write a blog do you think? The thoughts of Chairman Tim?

    Reply

  3. Anne Garage
    Feb 16, 2013 @ 19:41:42

    Definitely Tim! You might even make some money if enough people read it! I think you’d be a great blogger! As long as you can work out how to publish a post, you’ll be fine. You’ve already a master of Facebook!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Things this blog is about…

